Mica Levi releases first solo album ‘Ruff Dog’

Mica Levi has shared a new solo LP without any prior announcement or warning.

The project is titled Ruff Dog and landed this morning (16 December). It’s a self-released album, Levi’s first record under their own name and came with a press release statement.

“a lot of pixels later there was a huge surge in frequency and some tiny clouds of knowledge burst into rain during the dress rehearsal for the collection of a lost wav file,” the statement reads.

“in this moment the other clouds parted and a ray of sunshine shone onto input 1 and 2 on the audio interface – the screen brightness dimmed and instead there was a long 6 hour recording session split into 2 days in which they quit smoking and decided to live in the song. after the break the words might rhyme or come out dusty. everlasting they left the phone call.”

South East London-based musician, composer and prior Oscar nominee Levi has also spent time in recent years working on various cinematic scores. Take A24’s upcoming movie Zola, for example.

Listen to Ruff Dog here and check out the full tracklist and videos for tunes Wings and Pain below.

1. Ruff Dog
2. Kind of Strange
3. Wings
4. One Tear
5. Cold Eyes
6. Flower Bed
7. A plain clothed Jimi Hendrix drives me to Newcastle. For some reason the trip will take 3 days and he is going to do it for £150. He drives really smoothly and only listens to one album which is by someone with Joy in their name. Joy’s music is covers of classic rock songs but with all the edge smoothed off. We arrive in Brazil and I impress someone because I say obrigado. The same person asks me to find them an intern. I don’t think I can but I try. I am nervous in the girls changing room and play trap songs loud off my phone.
8. Chains Baggy
9. Hi Gene
10. Pain
11. Ride Till We Die