Since 2010, Don’t Be Afraid has been steadily cementing its reputation as one of the most reliable house and techno labels operating out of the UK. With strong links to Detroit, it has always stood out as an authentic outpost for classic, timeless dance music, with a roster of artists spanning MGUN, Mr Beatnick, DJ Bone and Mr G.

Far from losing steam in 2017, DBA enjoyed a landmark year. The label released two of the year’s most acclaimed dance LPs: Karen Gwyer’s Rembo and Differ-Ent (aka DJ Bone)’s It’s Good to Be Differ-Ent. Add to this a slew of outstanding 12s from rRoxymore, Achim Maerz, Tyler Dancer and Jayson Wynters and you have a golden year by any label’s standards.

At the label’s helm is Londoner Benji Roth – bka Semtek – whose label skills are mirrored in his skills behind the decks. His mix for us sees him in a headsy mode: streams of beatless, textural pieces from Remi Gassman and rRose give way to low-key, rolling techno from Shamos, Shifted and Marco Shuttle.

Remi Gassman – Curtain Music
rRose – Cephalon
.NSI – Ride 125
Francois De Roubaix – Piste 23
Terrence Dixon – The Test Of Time
rRose x Bob Ostertag – Pointilism (Variation 2)
Basic Channel – Radiance III
Σ – Schleifen 4
Lituüs – PRTN:_001/2
Shamos – Found Grace
Drums Off Chaos – Clockwise Instinct
Shifted – The Faintest Trace, The Quietest Whisper
Marco Shuttle – Flauto Synthetico
Prefix Moniker – Detuning The Laser
L/F/D/M – s sss
Solitary Dancer – At The End Of The Corridor Of Love, A Loss 96
Felix K – Tragedy Of The Commons
Charles Manier – Mesrop
Oscar Mulero – 201 Element